Home > Instructional Design - General > Using PowerPoint 2007 as a Replacement for PhotoFunia.

Using PowerPoint 2007 as a Replacement for PhotoFunia.

I love the photo effects at sites such as http://www.photofunia.com/, but I am never exactly sure whether I am allowed to use them for eLearning that I sell to clients. I posted about this recently on the Articulate Forums.

Earlier today, I found myself in this dilemma with an image of some food products that I created, (see below).

It is a nice enough image, but I wanted to see what I could do to replicate it, both from a creative and a legal perspective.  If I could not replicate the picture exactly, I wanted to at least use the software as a prompt to spark my own creativity, using nothing but PowerPoint’s standard functionality, and other freebies made available from the Articulate Forum. This is what I came up with. Not a perfect copy, but close enough, and a solid visual concept.

I see so many other folks on the Articulate forum coming up with creative ideas, and ways to use PowerPoint as a relatively good graphics package, it was nice to see that my efforts, (IMHO) stand there with them. It’s interesting to see what you can do when you stop for a few minutes, get some inspiration, and then copy it with what you already have available.

Rather than worrying about if we should or should not use some of the tools out there on the web, let’s use them for inspiration, then use what we know we are allowed to, and just add some personal flair and creativity.

Happy creating.

  1. Beth Ipock
    January 25, 2011 at 2:55 am

    Nice work, Bruce. Thanks for the inspiration and the ideas of where to get some inspiration!

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

