Home > Freelancers, Instructional Design - General > #Freelancers – original thoughts anyone?

#Freelancers – original thoughts anyone?

Like you, I get bombarded by feeds from social media, and frankly, I’m getting bored by most of them.

For me – social media is about sharing thoughts, sharing observations, helping other freelancers, perhaps give away the odd company secret and/or technique for success.

I am bored of getting endless re-posts, re-tweets, recommendations, and posts purporting to share knowledge that hide under a thin veil of “Buy my/our product”. I appreciate the concept of “curating”, but it does NOT just mean “Here’s a collection of stuff that you could probably find yourself if you learned how to use a Search Engine correctly”.

Many instructional designers, and many freelancers live in 1-person worlds, where communication time is short, and valued. I’d much rather receive a post from a co-worker, colleague or friend that asked an original question than get an In-Box full of content that was supposedly showing me the “52-best ways…” to do something, or covertly advertising something I do not need.

I’d love to see more questions, more engagement, and more relationships formed rather than the same information going round and round. Let’s give more – more of us, not more of others.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

